Defensive Driving Course (6-hour, State-Approved) – Oklahoma City

Course Date:

July 20, 2024

August 3, 2024

August 17, 2024

September 7, 2024

September 21, 2024

October 5, 2024

October 19, 2024

November 2, 2024

November 16, 2024

December 7, 2024

December 21, 2024

Course Time:

8:00 am

8:00 am

8:00 am

8:00 am

8:00 am

8:00 am

8:00 am

8:00 am

8:00 am

8:00 am

8:00 am

Course Location:

Oklahoma Safety Council

The National Safety Council 10th Edition Defensive Driving Course (DDC-6) is a comprehensive driver improvement program with a basic 6-hour curriculum offering practical knowledge and techniques to avoid crashes, and to choose safe, responsible, and lawful driving behaviors.

The Rewards of Driver Improvement

After completing the course, you will receive a Certificate of Completion which, depending on your state, may make you eligible for point reduction or ticket dismissal. Insurance companies in 34 states offer a reduction on insurance premiums to DDC graduates (check with your insurance carrier for availability). If you sign up as a participant for DDC-6, you’ll also receive our illustrated Participant Guide, with practical exercises and tips you’ll refer to even after the course is over.

The Original Defensive Driving Course

The National Safety Council’s Defensive Driving Course set the standard for driver improvement training with its introduction in 1964. We’ve trained more than 60 million drivers worldwide since then, reaching more than a million new drivers every year.

Our Defensive Driving Course has the highest rate of success in reducing the number and severity of collisions, and their related costs.

More courts, state departments of motor vehicles, insurance companies, municipalities, businesses, government agencies, and driving schools trust NSC for quality driver improvement training.

It’s the one driver improvement program that offers consistent quality and content nationwide.

NSC’s Research and Statistics team identifies the leading causes of death, injury, and collisions-then we design our training to help drivers avoid those situations.

We keep our instructors up to date on the latest developments in traffic law and automobile technology.

What You Will Learn

Driving defensively. You will learn to recognize the need for and benefits of defensive driving, and that defensive driving involves both legal and personal responsibility. You will be able to identify risky driving attitudes and behaviors, determine if a collision was preventable, as well as become familiar with the DDC Collision Prevention Formula.

Making safe choices. You will be able to identify the benefits of occupant restraint systems, explain the effects of alcohol and other drugs on driving ability, and spot physical and mental driver conditions that may affect your driving. You will also be taught techniques you can use to maintain control in adverse driving situations.

Becoming aware of conditions. You will be presented with driving skills and techniques to use in avoiding collisions and violations caused by vehicle or driving conditions.

Hone your skills. You will become familiar with the skills and techniques that allow you to avoid collisions and violations, and you will learn to spot the common types of driving errors that contribute to collisions. You’ll be taught how to make safe and legal turns, evaluate, and overcome the hazards of passing, and how to avoid a head-on collision.

Cost: $50.00

Expedited Certificate: $10.00

Price Details

Please select the above button to proceed


Event FAQs

What is the cancellation policy for this course?

All cancellation or rescheduling for classes must be made by 2:00 PM on the business day PRIOR to the scheduled class. Full course fees will be assessed if registrant has not cancelled by the deadline.  Anyone who may be late should call to notify the training center. Anyone arriving late – without notification – will be assessed the full class fee.

Do I have to register on-line, or can I just show up?

You must register. All registrations must be received on-line before 1 


2:00pm on the Friday prior to the course. Decisions about cancelling the course due to low enrollment are based on the number of students registered. Having that information in advance also ensures we are able to contact students and let them know if a course is cancelled due to low enrollment, inclimate weather, or other emergency.

Can this course be provided at our location for our staff?

Yes. OSC provides this course on-site with a minimum of 10 employees. Contact our Training & Development Manager at 405-848-8626 to schedule. 

What time does this course start and how long does it last?

This is a six-hour course that begins at 8:00 promptly. Please be advised, for security purposes, the doors may be locked while the course is in session, so it is important to arrive a few minutes early.  End times may vary based on how long breaks are. 

What is an expedited certificate and how do I get one?

If you need your certificate quickly, an expedited certificate may be provided for additional fee of $10. If you select this option when you register, you can pick your certificate up from the office after 10:00 am the following Monday. All other certificates are sent to the student by US Mail. 

Course Details:

Share This Course
ADD TO YOUR CALENDAR